Orana Joint Organisation

NSW Network of Joint Organisations


The Chair of the Orana Joint Organisation (JO), Clr Doug Batten came together on 16th August 2018 with the NSW Network of Joint Organisations and senior government officials for the first time, at a landmark forum at Parliament House in Sydney.

Clr Doug Batten said the meeting was an opportunity for the newly elected Chairs of the 12 Joint Organisations to unite and discuss priorities for infrastructure and services in regional NSW. The meeting marked the official launch of NSW’s network of Joint Organisations across regional NSW.

The meeting of the JO Chairs was addressed by the Premier Gladys Berejiklian, Deputy Premier and Minister for Regional NSW John Barilaro, and Local Government Minister Gabrielle Upton. The meeting also follows the recent release of the NSW Government’s 20-Year Economic Vision for Regional NSW, which sets out a set of ‘engine industries’ for growth in the regions, and the government’s priorities for infrastructure spending.

The formation of JOs aims to strengthen economic management, planning and service delivery in regional and rural areas. Currently 12 JO’s have been formed across regional NSW, representing a total of 85 regional councils. 90 per cent of eligible councils have voluntarily joined Joint Organisations, ensuring the strength and success of the new bodies in delivering for regional NSW, added Clr Batten.

 Joint Organisation Chairs

  • Canberra Region Joint Organisation – Yass Mayor Rowena Abbey
  • Central NSW Joint Organisation – Lachlan Mayor John Medcalf
  • Far North West Joint Organisation – Cobar Mayor Lilliane Brady
  • Far South West Joint Organisation – Wentworth Mayor Melisa Hederics
  • Hunter Joint Organisation – Cessnock Mayor Bob Pynsent
  • Illawarra Shoalhaven Joint Organisation – Wollongong Lord Mayor Gordon Bradbery
  • Mid North Coast Joint Organisation – Kempsey Mayor Liz Campbell
  • Namoi Joint Organisation – Gunnedah Mayor Jamie Chaffey
  • New England Joint Organisation – Uralla Mayor Michael Pearce
  • Northern Rivers Joint Organisation – Kyogle Mayor Danielle Mulholland
  • Orana Joint Organisation – Gilgandra Mayor Doug Batten
  • Riverina and Murray Joint Organisation – Albury Mayor Kevin Mack
Scroll to Top